The number of languages recognized by the Indian Constitution is - 22
At the inception of Indian constitution in 1950, number of recognized languages was - 14
The languages which were added to the Eighth Schedule are - Sindhi, Konkani, Nepali, Manipuri, Maithili, Dogri, Bodo and Santhali
Number of identifiable mother tongues as per Ministry of Statistics and Programme Implementation report of 2011 - 234
The first language to be conferred the status of a Classical Language - Tamil
The official language of Nagaland is - English
The official language of Jammu and Kashmir - Urdu
The official language of Goa - Konkani
The official language of the Supreme Court and High Court as prescribed by the Constitution of India is - English
The principal language of Lakshwadeep are - Jeseri ( Dweep Bhasha ) and Mahal
Foreign language commonly spoken in Puducherry (formerly Pondicherry) is - French
The Indian language known as the ‘Italian of the East’ is - Telugu
The principal languages of the Andaman and Nicobar islands are - Hindi, Nicobarese, Bengali, Tamil, Malayalam and Telugu


© 2015 by Tnpsc Winners. All Rights Reserved
Contact Us: